Home Ogunjobi Gold Cup Northern State May Host 2020 Ogunjobi Gold Cup – Organisers

Northern State May Host 2020 Ogunjobi Gold Cup – Organisers

by Bioreports


The organisers of Nigeria’s First Pre-Season Tournament (Ogunjobi Gold Cup) have hinted that the host for the 8th edition could come from the North.

According to them, the need to spread the tournament to other states of the federation necessitated this.

This is as they expressed readiness to hold the 8th edition of the tournament this year, once the ban on placed on football activities in the country is lifted.

The Ogunjobi Gold Cup is a pre-season tournament, played by ten (10) teams from the Nigeria Professional Football League, Nigeria National League and Nationwide League One and structured into two groups with five clubs in each group.

In a chat with Bioreports, the General Coordinator of the tournament, Tunde Shamsudeen, said they were working to hold the tourney this year and the tournament would hold when football activities return in the country.

He added that some teams had expressed interest to participate and states to host.

He said; “We’re working on modalities to stage the 8th edition of Nigeria’s First Pre-Season Tournament #OgunjobiGoldCup. Once we have a clear picture of football activities resumption, we will definitely go on with the tournament.

“We are in touch with the clubs who have shown interest to participate and we’re in talks with three states who want to host the tourney.

“The next edition of the Ogunjobi Gold Cup could be moved out of it South West region.

“Reason being that, we want to spread it to other states. If you know the NPFL history, you would agree with me that there’s a good follower-ship in the north.

“Recall Ijebu-Ode has hosted four of the Ogunjobi Gold Cup events, Ilorin hosted it twice and co-hosted once by Ado-Ekiti and Akure.

“We are thinking and working on another fresh idea to make #OgunjobiGoldCup20 better than that of last year. We made history last year in Ilorin, playing night Pre-Season football and we are hoping to make history.

The tournament started in 2013, with Sunshine Stars FC, winning the maiden edition, defunct Sharks FC won the second edition, Kano Pillars, the third edition, Lobi Stars FC won the fourth, Kano Pillars won the fifth edition, Sunshine Stars won the sixth edition, with Niger Tornadoes winning the last edition.

You may also like

Leave a Reply