Home POLITICS No election winner will be denied mandate – Buhari

No election winner will be denied mandate – Buhari

by News
No election winner will be denied mandate – Buhari

The President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.)

The President, Major General Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), on Tuesday, joined party members at the Jos township stadium in endorsing the candidate of the All Progressives Congress in the 2023 presidential race, Bola Tinubu, and his running mate, Kashim Shettima.

At the event, the President said no election winner would be denied his mandate in 2023.

The President, at a visit to the Gbong Gwom Jos, Da Jacob Gyang Buba, reiterated his commitment to ensuring that every vote counted while urging party members to march to deliver the APC candidates now that the party had decided.

According to a statement by the Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, Buhari said, “No election winner will be denied his mandate, irrespective of the party to which they belonged,” apparently in response to the Campaign Director-General, Governor Simon Lalong, who announced the intention to recreate the 1993 Moshood Abiola’s historic victory in 2023, in a campaign that took off in the same city 3o years ago. That election victory was annulled by the military.

In handing the APC flag to the candidate at the tumultuous occasion, Buhari said the country needed a man like Tinubu, urging the party faithful to campaign on issues and the abilities of the candidate and his running mate, Shettima.

The President reiterated his earlier assurances that he would be at the forefront of the campaign because of his belief in the party.

The President said it was only the APC that could steer Nigeria to fulfill its historic purpose adding that working together with the leadership of the party, the campaign council, and its teeming supporters, the goal would be achieved.

The National Chairman of the party, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, led other party stalwarts, including Tinubu to call on Nigerians to vote for the APC ticket.

You may also like

Leave a Comment