President Goodluck Jonathan has nominated former police chief, Mike Okiro, as the head of the Police Service Commission, in a string of new appointments sent in for senate approval on Wednesday.

The president also asked the lawmakers to approve the nomination of former Senate President, Ken Nnamani, previously an estranged member of the ruling Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, as the new Chairman of the Board of the Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission.

Mr. Nnamani, who got suspended from his party after leading an attempt at reforming the ruling party, is to lead Aminu Dikko (the commission’s director general), Comfort Saro Wiwa, Janet Adeyemi, Yabawa Wabi, Musa Elayo, and A.U. Kanu on the Infrastructure board.

Mr. Nnamani was suspended by the party for his reform efforts ahead of the 2011 elections. At the time, the former senate president lent support to the presidential ambition of former military ruler, Ibrahim Babangida, appearing at Mr. Babangida’s limited public speeches, where the former leader sought to clinch the party’s presidential nomination ahead of Mr. Jonathan.

Since the events, Mr. Nnamani has kept a low profile, until recently when he was considered amongst the top contenders for the chairmanship of the PDP’s Board of Trustees.

His appointment, which awaits the senate’s confirmation, might mean that the former lawmaker, who also led the effort that denied former president, Olusegun Obasanjo, a third term, may have mended ways with Mr. Jonathan’s administration.

Okiro’s appointment

The president also appointed Mr. Okiro as chairman of the police service commission, ahead of  Otive Igbuzor. Mr. Igbuzor has been nominated again as member of the commission.

Other members of the police commission include Yakubu Mohammed, Olufunke Adekeye, Aisha Tukur, Comfort Obi, Tonrgee Toranyiin.

Mr. Jonathan has also dropped Adesojo Olaoba-Efuntayo as the proposed secretary of the board of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.

The president had submitted Mr. Olaoba-Efuntayo’s name to the Senate for confirmation last month.

The new nominee is Emmanuel Adegboyega Aremo.


You might also like More from author

%d bloggers like this:
Skip to toolbar